Author Topic: Best Car/Way to Start for LSR/Texas Mile  (Read 9949 times)

Offline freepistol

• New folks
Best Car/Way to Start for LSR/Texas Mile
« on: December 01, 2013, 01:31:01 PM »
I would like to start on a car to get into LSR/Texas mile.  I have been hooked since seeing the Spirit of America and the Blue Flame when I was a kid.  I built untold rocket and Pusher .049 powered cars as a kid (also a model sled to run on the snow!)  I would like to have a lakester, but I would be happy to have any four wheeled vehicle to start with.  I wish there was an LSR version of a go-kart.  I have tried to read all I can find on the subject, but I'm not getting any younger.

Thanks,

Dwight
So I'm a violin teacher who wants to go to Salt Flats.  At least I have small motor control :-)

Offline Gary Perkinson

Re: Best Car/Way to Start for LSR/Texas Mile
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2013, 01:40:35 PM »
Get a rule book from whatever organization you're interested in running with, buy a full-face helmet with a 2010 Snell certification, and then take whatever street car you own and enter it into a couple of events in a street, time-only, or sub-130 mph class (which will allow you to run with three-point seat belts and no cage). This will let you to get your feet wet safely, plus you'll have a lot of fun, see a lot of cool cars, and meet a lot of cool, knowledgeable people...
LTA   G/BGALT Record (1 mile)     143.313
LTA   G/BGALT Record (1.5 mile)  148.321
LTA   F/PRO Record (1 mile)         114.668

Offline freepistol

• New folks
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2013, 01:57:07 PM »
That is a great idea,  I have a 240Z and a 370Z  that are both capable of 130 pretty easily.

-D
So I'm a violin teacher who wants to go to Salt Flats.  At least I have small motor control :-)

Offline SPARKY

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2013, 02:33:11 PM »