Author Topic: Advice on soft salt  (Read 11031 times)

Offline wobblywalrus

Advice on soft salt
« on: August 18, 2013, 12:24:41 AM »
Any advice about riding on the funky salt we are seeing this year?  Tire pressure?  Suspension setup?  How to ride?  etc.

Offline makr

• I make my own rules
Re: Advice on soft salt
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2013, 07:31:23 AM »
Good topic. I have been pondering this a bunch the last couple of days I was out there last Saturday and Sunday.

I am not a professional saltoligist, but this is what I saw/felt; Driving from the end of the road to pits the salt is so much better then it was last year. Way less of those huge mushy spots and no rivers and lake. It didn't spray as much driving through it. The weird part is it sticks like glue. Seems to have a top layer that isn't part of the base. I didn't ride the course so I cant speak to that, but talking to racers it seems it is the same on course. There were certainly lots of spins.

The part that worries me a tiny bit is how chewed up our course will be after speed week because it is soft. One redeeming thought is there were lots of motorcycle records set at Speed week. Seems the cars struggled more. Except for the Poteet&Main streamliner hauled balls, so we may find out who has a well set up chassis out of our group.

I will ask what the procedure is for prepping the course between speed week and us, and if there are any thoughts about what we will face. BRB.
Ride fast, safety last.

https://speedofcheeseracing.com/

Offline makr

• I make my own rules
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2013, 09:32:21 PM »
Woah woah. Lets make this orderly. Not everyone at the same time.

So the BUB team preps the salt. Maybe we can get word from them in a few days. I'm sure they were out there this weekend. If not I may have word from the USFRA camp in a few.
Ride fast, safety last.

Offline Pippi

• "do or do not...there is no try"-Yoda
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2013, 10:55:22 PM »