Author Topic: APS/Ω Gas turbine bike build  (Read 930925 times)

Offline Mobacken Racing

• Turbine junkie
    • Mobacken Racing
APS/Ω Gas turbine bike build
« on: March 24, 2013, 04:19:01 PM »
Hi!

With the bike finally standing on its wheels I felt like it was a good time to start a thread here and introduce myself. Anders Johansson is my name, 31 years old and live in the northern parts of Sweden. I work as a mechanic at a combined power and heating plant and have been building all sorts of jet engines for the last 12 years.

For three years I have been building a gas turbine powered land speed bike from scratch, the engine is based around a Garrett TV94 core and everything else is either home cast or milled from blocks of aluminum on my manual lathe and mill.

The engine before the first test run.

The hot parts are made from SS304, SS316 and mild steel coated with cheramics. The engine once in its turboshaft configuration is calculated to deliver around 150hp on the rear tyre, even more if I dare to run it hot enough.

I spent a year testing and improving the engine and after the fourth rebuild it seems to work like it should, earlier I had problems with oil leakage and tight tolerances but during the last run I ran it for a minute at 100% without any problems other than a high oil temp which I will solve with a larger capacity and an oil cooler.

The first test, dressed for the occation and bloody nervous.  :-D

http://youtu.be/3Gd_H8ClmHw

The fifth test, lots of thrust since it almost tipped the test bench over.

http://youtu.be/gLYInPTrdaU

With the gas producer sorted out I started to build the chromemoly frame, a frame jig was built and a set of GSXR 750 wheels and forks was sourced.

At the same time I designed and built the power turbine section, it is based around an RR Allison C20 4th stage turbine wheel with a home built NGV section in SS304.

The C20 turbine wheel in its housing.

Making the NGV.