Author Topic: roadster cooling question...  (Read 7737 times)

Offline Roadster943

roadster cooling question...
« on: February 27, 2004, 02:25:00 AM »
Hi, I am new to this...went to Speedweek '02 for vacation, and life as I knew it was over!  Have been building a roadster since then. Hope to have it ready for speed week this year. Have a question on cooling...plan on running a 20 gallon water tank in the rear of the car. Water level will be well above the top of the engine. I am thinking of controling water temp in the engine by turning the waterpump on and off. Will I have any problems with hot spots when the pump is off? The reason I am thinking of doing it this way is that my intake manifold does not have provisions for a thermostat.  Anybody have any thoughts on this? any suggestions appreciated.
Land Speed Racing, The sheer joy of spending every dime you've got racing for nothing but glory. David Freiburger

Offline John Burk

Re: roadster cooling question...
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2004, 02:32:00 PM »
Hi Roadster - It's not hard to rig up a remote thermostat as long as a little water can loop back while the thermostat is closed- Without a thermostat you need to warm 20 gallons to warm the motor and that uses up a lot of the cooling capacity .

Offline Stan Back

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2004, 03:30:00 PM »
On our roadster we use a mechanical water pump with a tank in the rear of about the same capacity as you mentioned.  We don't have to remember to turn it on, much less try to control temperature on a run by turning it on and off.  Seems there're better things to be doing.  We restrict the flow after our small capacity pump.  We use a 4-cyl. pump on an 8-cyl. engine and about a 3/4" restrictor.  It all adds up to about 150 pounds over the right rear and the temperature has never exceeded 190.  Hope this gives you some ideas.