Author Topic: Complete newbie checking in  (Read 14580 times)

Mr. Aris

Complete newbie checking in
« on: April 19, 2006, 01:31:48 AM »
Hello Everyone,

I'm a complete newbie to LSR, and I was hoping to start this year.  My background is in motorcycle drag racing.  I would like to attend the BUB race this year.  I need to know what I need to do to my bike to pass tech.  

1.  Has the 2006 rulebook been released yet?
2.  If so, can someone point me in the direction where I can pick one up?

Offline firemanjim

« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2006, 02:45:20 AM »
Bonneville 2001,2002,2003,2004,and NO stinking 2005,DLRA 2006, next?
Well,sure can't complain about 2008--6 records over 200 and 5 hats from Bonneville,Bubs, and El Mirage for the team!

Offline Seldom Seen Slim

• Nancy and me and the pit bike
  • Administrator
  • Nancy -- 201.913 mph record on a production ZX15!
    • Nancy and Jon's personal website.
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2006, 12:04:01 PM »
Mr. Aris, hunh?  The Greek name for the god of war, hey?  This is gonna be interesting.

Okay, back to land speed stuff.  Welcome to the club.  If you've been lurking and reading our stuff for a while you already know that we're straight-arrow serious, no goofing around is tolerated.  We also like chasing records and building bikes (and car guys like building cars, but they're another breed).

Jonathon's already sent you information on Bub's, so that's covered.  I'll suggest that you find a way to visit one or more of the lsr meets -- whether El Mirage, sooner, or at the Salt -- this August -- before you go to Bub's.  You'll get a chance to shoot the breeze with some folks that have already succumbed to land speed racing.

If you're at SpeedWeek, plan plenty of time to stroll through the pits and visit with us and the others that are there.  It's about the best way to learn how we deal with this afflication.

Welcome.
Jon E. Wennerberg
 a/k/a Seldom Seen Slim
 Skandia, Michigan
 (that's way up north)
2 Club member x2