Author Topic: Vibration Proof Tach  (Read 4994 times)

Offline Viau Boys

• New folks
Vibration Proof Tach
« on: January 06, 2010, 05:23:39 PM »
One of our dumber decisions last year was going with an el cheapo Summit brand 3" tach. :?

We're looking to replace it with a 5" version that will remain accurate and readable even under high vibration conditions, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

We were also thinking of using a digital tach but I have no experience with them so any advice on those would help too, thanks. :cheers:
Matt Viau
Car #1305, Brampton Michigan's Fastest Brick

Offline Dean Los Angeles

Re: Vibration Proof Tach
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2010, 05:41:16 PM »
Well, it used to be Los Angeles . . . 50 miles north of Fresno now.
Just remember . . . It isn't life or death.
It's bigger than life or death! It's RACING.

Offline manta22

• What, me worry?
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2010, 07:14:02 PM »
If you mount your tach (and other instruments in a panel and then mount the panel with shock mounts you won't have vibration problems. I mounted my instrument panel to the chassis with small Lord aircraft vibration mounts.

Regards, Neil  Tucson, AZ

Offline dennisg

• New folks
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2012, 12:58:56 AM »
If you mount your tach (and other instruments in a panel and then mount the panel with shock mounts you won't have vibration problems. I mounted my instrument panel to the chassis with small Lord aircraft vibration mounts.

I had two stroke engine vibration regularly destroy my ultralight's analog instruments.. I used little lord mounts on the panel, to no avail.  I  used special engine mounts which helped my comfort greatly( before I used that there was a deep thrumming in my chest when the engine ran)    but they did not keep instrument needles from shaking off etc.

Digital instruments are immune to vibration.  They are the best solution to extreme vibration levels.

Offline manta22

• What, me worry?