Author Topic: Question on Car & Engine class  (Read 13613 times)

Offline saltydreams

• New folks
Question on Car & Engine class
« on: April 09, 2012, 05:17:25 PM »
Hey guys, Brand new newbie here. I have a few questions that I hope you can help me with. I have done some research but things are still a bit fuzzy. I have a SCTA rule book on the way which I hope will clear things up. Books can still a little difficult to interprate. If someone could put it in laymans terms, I would appreciate it. Below is a description car we are fixing to build. If someone would explain what class of car and what class of engine our car would fit in. You will see by the car we are building we are old school enthusiest.

Car: 1934 Ford steel body Roadster. The car is channeled and low. No body mods from firewall back. Quick change rear-end with ladder bars in the rear. Dropped I-beam with split wishbones in the front. We have not decided on wheelbase. If we lengthen the wheelbase would that put in different classes or does it matter.

Engine: Here is where it's a bit fuzzy to me. We want to run a 1955 270ci baby Hemi. I believe that puts me in a "D" class per cubic inches. It's not blown or turbo'ed. It's had some internal upgrades and it has aftermarket carb, intake, headers and ignition. There are very few performance parts for these little engines. The most horsepower it can muster up is about 260-270. Is there a specific class for these low horsepower pre "certain" year motors. Or, are they lumped into a catagory with other engines capable of producing much more horsepower based on cubic inches. Will we have to compete with guys with blowers, turbo's and such.

We have no grand illusions of building a car that would remotely compete. We want to build a car that would pass inspection and see how fast we can push the ole 34 with the baby Hemi. Any info or suggestions you might have would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Mike

Offline Glen

• Global Moderator