Author Topic: Karmann Ghia Engine Swap?  (Read 17015 times)

DocBeech

Karmann Ghia Engine Swap?
« on: September 08, 2011, 12:12:24 PM »
Ok guys after the loss of my RX8 and 6 months to pout about it I am back. I miss my rotary but the only engine swap I ever did was on a 04 mustang and it was v8 - v8. I have never done anything like this before so I have a lot of questions and no one close by to ask them lol. I am hoping the experience of you guys can help me make this happen. Currently I have a 1963 VW running a 1972 1.6L (60hp model) AH motor. Its bored and stroked to 1.8L and about 80HP. Well she is dieing on me. Ive replaced the carbs, and ignition system. I have replaced the cams, and even had it rebuilt. But she just isn't holding compression for more than 2 years at a time and the engines age and wear is making it impossible to keep doing this. I am wanting to swap out to a 13B carbed rotary engine. I have a new Gex Pro Street 4 speed transmission. So my first question is would this transaxle hold up to the double rpm it would have to take? How would you go about mounting the oil coolers and radiator on a car that is rear engine and air cooled. I have a lot more questions but this is just a start. Again I need lots of help. So your patience would also be very appreciated.

Offline bucketlist

Re: Karmann Ghia Engine Swap?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2011, 02:28:51 PM »