Landracing Forum Home
October 19, 2017, 11:36:39 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
BACK TO LANDRACING.COM HOMEPAGE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  


(Note: Donations are not tax deductible)







Live Audio Streaming and Archives of Past Events
Next Live Event: TBD
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Firefox browser problems?  (Read 2074 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Seldom Seen Slim
Administrator
Hero Member
***
Offline Offline

Age: 69
Location: Skandia, Michigan
Posts: 11789


Nancy -- 201.913 mph record on a production ZX15!


WWW
« on: January 23, 2017, 10:28:14 AM »

I run Firefox on our 'puters - including the Dell that I must use to drive the laser machine.  That means I'm stuck with Windows XP 'cause that's the only program the driver of the laser wants to see.

So - recently I have been getting blocked from some sites by Firefox.  I've checked and it's not the anti-virus stuff, it's the Firefox.  I get the "This site isn't configured properly" noticed.  Like, really -- Google and eBay really don't know how to do it?  WTF?  Maybe, I'm thinking, it's got something to do with a Firefox update that has gone beyond XP.  Sure hope not. . .

And I haven't figured out a way around the hassle I end up with - can't import anything to the art programs if I can't get on the internet to get what I want.  Anybody else have this happen?
Logged

Jon E. Wennerberg
 a/k/a Seldom Seen Slim
 Skandia, Michigan
 (that's way up north)
2 Club member x2
Owner of landracing.com
Stainless1
Administrator
Hero Member
***
Offline Offline

Age: 66
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 6421


Robert W. P. "Stainless" Steele Wichita, Kansas



« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2017, 10:46:16 AM »

YEP, but my problems are the ones that tell me that IE needs to be upgraded, but you can't with XP.... So I switched to Firefox and it works great for those sites that tell me I need to upgrade my browser.... I have the newest Firefox on that machine.
Maybe you need to change the porn sites you regularly visit  shocked  rolleyes  cheers
Logged

Stainless
Red Hat 228.039, 2001, 65ci, MSA Bockscar Lakester with a little N20 
MSA Bockscar Lakester #1000 my fastest mile 245 and change, 84 ci turbobusa motor... but Corey's 233 MPH H/BFL record is still 3MPH faster than mine.
Seldom Seen Slim
Administrator
Hero Member
***
Offline Offline

Age: 69
Location: Skandia, Michigan
Posts: 11789


Nancy -- 201.913 mph record on a production ZX15!


WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2017, 12:00:53 PM »

I don't visit all that many of them on the work 'puter - thought of that already. Dead Horse  I'd give IE a try - but it's not even in this machine any more.  Ah, woe is me.  Tnx.
Logged

Jon E. Wennerberg
 a/k/a Seldom Seen Slim
 Skandia, Michigan
 (that's way up north)
2 Club member x2
Owner of landracing.com
WOODY@DDLLC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Age: 72
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1121


It's GONE ......... the Ohio Mile! :-(


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2017, 09:15:32 PM »

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/firefox-no-longer-works-some-versions-windows-xp
Logged

All models are wrong, but some are useful! G.E. Box (1967) www.designdreams.biz
Stainless1
Administrator
Hero Member
***
Offline Offline

Age: 66
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 6421


Robert W. P. "Stainless" Steele Wichita, Kansas



« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2017, 10:58:39 PM »

Now if only the programs we need that only run on xp would upgrade to later windows... It looks like Microsoft is not the only "no longer supporting XP" outfit.

Mine is SP3 XP Pro and firefox still works with it.... for now  sad
Logged

Stainless
Red Hat 228.039, 2001, 65ci, MSA Bockscar Lakester with a little N20 
MSA Bockscar Lakester #1000 my fastest mile 245 and change, 84 ci turbobusa motor... but Corey's 233 MPH H/BFL record is still 3MPH faster than mine.
Seldom Seen Slim
Administrator
Hero Member
***
Offline Offline

Age: 69
Location: Skandia, Michigan
Posts: 11789


Nancy -- 201.913 mph record on a production ZX15!


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2017, 06:47:01 AM »

Thanks, Woody.  I'll check what the machine at work is running this morning.  In the meantime - I'm stuck with it because of the old laser driver.  I hope I hope I hope I hope. shocked
Logged

Jon E. Wennerberg
 a/k/a Seldom Seen Slim
 Skandia, Michigan
 (that's way up north)
2 Club member x2
Owner of landracing.com
Seldom Seen Slim
Administrator
Hero Member
***
Offline Offline

Age: 69
Location: Skandia, Michigan
Posts: 11789


Nancy -- 201.913 mph record on a production ZX15!


WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2017, 10:29:50 AM »

The saga continues.  I've got service pack 3 in the Wintel - and Firefox doesn't care, it doesn't work for some sites.  Mozilla suggests I try running Opera - it's gonna be supported for at least a few months.

So how'd I work around this issue today when I had to import a file?  Easy - download on one machine, into a thumb drive, then remove drive, turn the chair 90 degrees, and plug said same thumb drive into the other.  PITA but it worked.  Thanks, kiddos.
Logged

Jon E. Wennerberg
 a/k/a Seldom Seen Slim
 Skandia, Michigan
 (that's way up north)
2 Club member x2
Owner of landracing.com
floydjer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Age: 60
Location: grand rapids, michigan
Posts: 2217


"There is no duck side of the moon..."




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2017, 09:52:25 AM »

Hmmm.......


* th (24).jpg (6.5 KB, 150x105 - viewed 240 times.)
Logged

I`d never advocate drugs,alcohol,violence or insanity to anyone...But they work for me.
WOODY@DDLLC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Age: 72
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1121


It's GONE ......... the Ohio Mile! :-(


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2017, 10:27:22 AM »

The saga continues.  I've got service pack 3 in the Wintel - and Firefox doesn't care, it doesn't work for some sites.  Mozilla suggests I try running Opera - it's gonna be supported for at least a few months.

So how'd I work around this issue today when I had to import a file?  Easy - download on one machine, into a thumb drive, then remove drive, turn the chair 90 degrees, and plug said same thumb drive into the other.  PITA but it worked.  Thanks, kiddos.
Slim, there are [almost] always lo-tech solutions to hi-tech problems!  grin cheers
BTW: It appears the latest Firefox is now running dual sessions [check your task manager] for added security and faster connections!?!? huh angry
Logged

All models are wrong, but some are useful! G.E. Box (1967) www.designdreams.biz
Freud
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Age: 86
Location: Everett, WA - USA
Posts: 5385




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: February 01, 2017, 12:17:31 PM »

Firefox gives me trouble on my Mac. It tells me the site is not secure.

Oh well, I'm not secure either.

So I take the html off of the URL and it works.

It's just a pain.

FREUD
Logged

Since '63
Stan Back
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Location: San Berdoo
Posts: 4735





Ignore
« Reply #10 on: February 01, 2017, 07:13:22 PM »

"So I take the html off of the URL and it works."

So I'd do the same if I knew what that meant and how to do it.  Way outta my range.

I guess that's why we run a "sledgehammer" roadster. 
Logged

Member of the San Berdoo Roadsters California's most-exclusive roadster club.
Celebrating 65th anniversary of racing on the salt.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!


Google visited last this page August 11, 2017, 04:24:04 AM